b&d  Back in August country music’s most successful duo announced that they were calling it a day. “Honky Tonk Stomp” will therefore be there last single, unless they plan on surprising fans with a live CD from there upcoming final tour in 2010. So it saddens me that they decide to end their nearly 20 year long career with “Honky Tonk Stomp”.

The duo go more rock than they ever have before (and ever will). The song is very loud and obnoxious guitar, courtesy of Billy Gibbons, the lead guitarist of ZZ Top. Billy Gibbons also sings a line in the chorus, which I will admit his voice sounded pretty cool.

Ronnie Dunn’s voice on the other hand, not so much. Now I know that comment will make Brooks & Dunn fans (or just Dunn fans) want to hang me, but the truth is I just don’t like the way he sings in this song. I don’t like the way he sing-shouts for the majority of the song.

The truth is Brooks & Dunn have gone down this hard rock/country path too many times in the past 5 years. I really hope they decide to release a surprise single  after this because this is not the way they should go out, they deserve something much better than this. Especially when the most memorable part of the song is the one line in the chorus that isn’t sung by one of them.

Grade: D+

