Well tonights MTV’s VMA show. Below I have listed my picks and commentary for certain categories that either interest me, has a decent video in it, or is Video of the Year.

Video Of The Year
Beyoncé – ‘Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)’
Britney Spears – ‘Womanizer’
Eminem – ‘We Made You’
Kanye West – ‘Love Lockdown’
Lady Gaga – ‘Poker Face’

Well let’s see this is probably the weakest Video of the Year ever. There’s no videos here that I like, but since it’s the most important category I will pick my favorite out of this sad bunch. I did it by process of elimination, first of was “We Made You” which I detest, is disgusting, and not funny at all. Then there’s “Poker Face”, this video is just Lady Gaga trying to act rich and playing strip poker with a bunch of people. “Love Lockdown” is just a little too bizarre to be meaningful. Then there was two. I decided to give it Beyoncé, because quite simply I’d rather watch her video than Britney’s. “If I Were a Boy” would be much more worthy of this award though.

Best Female Video
Beyoncé – ‘Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)’
Katy Perry – ‘Hot N Cold’
Kelly Clarkson – ‘My Life Would Suck Without You’
Lady Gaga – ‘Poker Face’
P!nk – ‘So What’
Taylor Swift – ‘You Belong With Me’

This one was a toss up between P!nk and Taylor Swift. Both videos are pretty impressive, Taylor’s video is like a tween rom-com. I’ve always liked videos that are like movies even if I probably wouldn’t like it if it were an actual movie. But in the end I put my vote behind P!nk. “So What” shamelessly obnoxious and it’s pretty darn funny.

Best Male Video
Eminem – ‘We Made You’
Jay-Z – ‘D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)’
Kanye West – ‘Love Lockdown’
Ne-Yo – ‘Miss Independent’
T.I. feat. Rihanna – ‘Live Your Life’

Like Swift’s video “Live Your Life” is like a mini-movie. This is actually a fairly solid category though. Ne-yo and Jay-Z both made good videos. Jay-Z will probably have this category next year with “Run This Town” though.

Best New Artist
3OH!3 – ‘Don’t Trust Me’
Asher Roth – ‘I Love College’
Drake – ‘Best I Ever Had’
Kid Cudi – ‘Day N’ Nite’
Lady Gaga – ‘Poker Face’

Euuhhhhh booooy.

Best Art Direction
Beyoncé – ‘Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)’
Britney Spears – ‘Circus’
Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’
Gnarls Barkley – ‘Who’s Gonna Save My Soul’
Lady Gaga – ‘Paparazzi’

This a pretty solid category. I don’t there’s much art behind Beyoncé  Britney’s videos. Coldplay and Lady Gaga both have worthy videos, but Gnarls Barkley takes the cake with their video.

Best Cinematography
Beyoncé – ‘Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)’
Britney Spears – ‘Circus’
Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’
Green Day – ’21 Guns’
Lady Gaga – ‘Paparazzi’

Once again a little puzzled over  Beyoncé and Britney, but the rest of them are deserving. In the end I chose Coldplay’s “Viva La Vida”, but “Paparazzi” is a close second.

