This is similar to the post I made at the beginning of February recapping some of the major releases of the month January. This post reviews some of the recent country singles that have been released. I will admit that some of them aren’t all that recent, but I felt the need to review them regardless. I’m sorry if any of my readers are annoyed about the majority of my single reviews being “mini-reviews”, but because of my shortage in time it is the most convenient way for me to cover all the songs I want to review.

“Undo It”, Carrie Underwood

This is only included based on the fact that Carrie Underwood is consider a country singer, because this song is pure pop. It is catchy pop mind you. It’s definitely enjoyable, but the repeating syllables in the chorus are rather annoying. Sadly, the song loses a lot of its momentum when it hits its bridge, due to its weak lyrics. In the end, it’s a pretty stupid pop song, but the production and Carrie’s voice manages to make it likable.

Grade: C+

“Water”, Brad Paisley

This songs about Paisley’s various memories involving water. Sadly, the song lacks the wit of his past couple of singles and it never really goes anywhere interesting.

Grade: C

“I Gotta Get To You”, George Strait

You can normally count on George Strait for a decent tune and this one doesn’t let us done. The song has a spanish-tinge to it which is kind of cheesy, but it suits the song well. It’s by no means groundbreaking and to be honest it’s not anything really special, but I can’t help but enjoy it.

Grade: B

“Making Me Fall In Love Again”, Kellie Pickler

I’ll start off by saying that this is one of my favorite vocals by Pickler. The production fun and different if not as engaging as some of her more pop flavored singles. I just can’t get into this one though, I blame this on the lyrics. Frankly, some of them test my gag-reflex. I hate tp admit it, but I probably would have enjoyed this one more if it had a more pop flavored hook.

Grade: C+

“Blue Sky”, Emily West ft. Keith Urban

A great song about a man who tries to get his girlfriend after what is implied to have been an abusive run in. She turns him down, unable to get over what he’s done.  Emily West gives a beautiful vocal performance, which reminds me a lot of Faith Hill. All Keith Urban does is sing harmony, which is a shame, because I think it would have been cool to have him sing his own verse where he tries to win her back or something. Still a really great song and even if Urban doesn’t play a large roll in it, if his name power alone can get this song played on radio then I can get over his wasted opportunity.

Grade: A-

“Crazy Town”, Jason Aldean

Like the Carrie Underwood song that I reviewed earlier in this post, this song isn’t country, it’s rock. Not a very good one at that. The song is style over substance. It’s lyrics are about people trying to make it big in Nashville and apparently to do that you have to “bang, bang, bang”. Thanks, but I’ll stick with the Dixie Chicks’ “Heartbreak Town”.

Grade: C-

“Ain’t Back Yet”, Kenny Chesney

Meh.

Grade: C

 “Groovy Little Summer Song”, James Otto

A fun little ditty about, well a groovy summer song. It’s not groundbreaking, but it is a refreshing change from most country songs having something to do with summer. Plus, James Otto is a great singer!

Grade: B

“Giddy On Up”, Laura Bell Bundy

This former broadway star is attempting to make a career in country music. The result? The craziest song country will probably come across this year. Sure the song is over the top and a whole lot of ridiculous, but that’s part of the song’s charm, in my opinion at least. Love it or hate it, it’s one of the most noticeable songs of the year.

Grade: B+

“It’s Just That Way”, Alan Jackson

This song is dangerously close to “background music” territory, but the song steps it up a bit in the chorus. Hey, it could be worse.

Grade: B-

“Get Off On The Pain”, Gary Allan

Gary Allan is one of my favorite country artists, but I’m having trouble really getting into the first two singles off his new album. There’s nothing really distinctive about this song. It’s production sounds too similar to the majority of singles being released by male country singers. At least the lyrics are comfortably different from what those male country singers are releasing, but it’s still feels like Allan’s done this kind of song before.

Grade: B-

“A Father’s Love (The Only Way He Knew How)”, Bucky Convington

The third song being reviewed in this post by a former American Idol contestant and my favorite of the bunch. A genuinely touching song about the ways the narrator of the songs father says “I love you” to his son. The subject matter might be clichéd, but I like I said it’s a genuinely touching. Or maybe I’m just a sucker for these kinds of songs.

Grade: B

