I guess kind of necessary to post something Christmas themed today, so here is my official Christmas post of 2009! I wasn’t really sure what I should do for this post, but after much debate I decided that it would be easier to do just recommend some of my favorite Christmas songs (I promise that next year I’ll come up with something more interesting). As always feel free to recommend some of your own favorite Christmas songs in comments. So without further ado here are some of my favorite Christmas songs:

“All I Want For Christmas Is You”. Mariah Carey

This song is just one big careless slice of Christmas music perfection.

“Grown-Up Christmas List”, Amy Grant

As much as “All I Want For Christmas Is You” was fun and careless, this one’s serious and touching. It actually makes my mom cry, which doesn’t take much, but it still goes to show that this does speak to people.

“Do They Know It’s Christmas?”. Band Aid

This song is the song that helped inspire “We Are the World”. It combined some of the biggest stars of that era to help raise money for the Ethiopia famine. Good intentions aside this is still a great Christmas song.

“I Want a Hippopotamus For Christmas”, Gayla Peevey

Yes it’s pure ridiculousness, but it’s also one of the funnest and strangest Christmas songs ever made.

“Happy Xmas (War is Over)”, John Lennon

This might just be the greatest Christmas song ever.

“Wonderful Christmastime”, Paul McCartney

Another quarter of the Beatles managed to give us a great Christmas song too. It’s not as good as John Lennon’s song, but it’s still great, fun, and lighthearted.

  Well that concludes my Christmas post of 2009, I know I’m probably missing a bunch of great Christmas songs, but these have been the one’s that I’ve enjoyed the most this year. Anyway, I hope you all an amazing Christmas and I’ll be back in a few days with my end of the year lists. Merry Christmas!