Robyn is a popstar all the way from Sweden, who is fairly successful in Europe. Back in the late 90’s she also managed to notch up two top ten hits in America, sadly after deciding to reinvent herself as a serious artist, this side of the Atlantic lost pretty much all interest in her. Despite her lack of commercial success, she still manages to be a critic’s darling and my favorite discovery of the year.

     And what a year 2010 has been for her, she took it upon herself to release no less than three albums this year. She’s also managed to already release two of the finest singles of the year in the form of “Dancing On My Own” and “Hang With Me”. As great as those two songs are though, “Indestructible” proves to be even better. On her last album, Body Talk Pt. 2, she included a stripped down version of the song which was nothing less than exquisite. The new version, which features a pulsing 4-on-the-floor beat, manages to preserve the touching lyrics of the stripped-down version while becoming about 10 times as mind-boggingly awesome.

     It’s hard to think of a finer moment in pop music this year than the exhilarating rush of the chorus as Roby sings: I’ve never been smart with love/ I let the bad ones in and the good ones go/ But I’m gonna love you like I’ve never been hurt before/ I’m gonna love you like I’m indestructible“. “indestructible” manages to be clever, sincere, and undeniably infectious. Those are the three elements that pop music can be when it’s at it’s best, and “Indestructible” is just that; pop music at its finest.

Grade: A+